Diagnosis will not shake us..

Ladies and gentlemen may I have your attention please!!!! We are not looking for thank you’s, likes or praises. We didn’t earn them and we don’t deserve them. We are who we are because of Gods grace. People ask why we smile so much or how we make family life look so easy with special needs. Well if you knew where we came from you’d treat every day as a gift as we try to.

4 years ago today Naomi and I should have been celebrating the birth of our baby boy Liam Sinclair. But it was bitter sweet as they say. Liam was taken to the NICU where he stayed for the next three weeks. They ran test after test trying to figure out his condition. As terrified as new parents are and stuck living on a fold out chair for the three weeks nothing could have prepared us for his diagnosis. Trisomy 9 and trisomy 18. They said some shocking things about trisomy and left Naomi and I with emptiness wondering what the fate of our little baby boy. After word got out about Liam, an overwhelming amount of prayer Guerrero’s from our home church (at the time) Calvary Chapel Southwest gave us an enormous amount of hope. I never mentioned this but to my wife and maybe one or two others. but the the day of Liam’s birth to the day we left the hospital I did not feel Gods presence whatsoever. I really did feel like it was Naomi and myself against the world. The one thing that kept me faithful at this lowest time in my life was hanging onto the promises of the Lord.

Psalms 32:10 says “many sorrows shall be to the wicked; but he who trusts in the Lord, mercy shall surround him”.

I have mercy surrounding me and my family that I am called to lead. You may think “well how special” but I’m not special. Naomi, Liam, Logan or Lincoln are not special. This is for everyone who trusts in the Lord. “Many sorrows shall be to the wicked”. I used to be in that category. but I believe in Jesus Christ’s life, death and resurrection. I believe in Jesus, the Holy Spirit and God the Father. I believe they are One. I believe Jesus was put to death to pay my sin debts to the Lord. His death freed my family and I from the stronghold Satan has on the world. We shall not be moved by a diagnosis or fears of losing Liam or any of our children to death. Death has no sting because we trust in the Lord and mercy shall surround us. Phil 1:21 “for to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain”.

So I ask: who, what, where is your HOPE and why?

Happy birthday to Liam Sinclair. We love you and thank the Lord for you and your siblings on a daily basis. #prayersforthegilleans

Still keeping the faith

The Lil’lean’s

Leave a Reply

